1. Quirpon Island
Quirpon (pronounced Car-poon) Island is located at the most northern point of Newfoundland. Quirpon lLighthouse Inn, a registered heritage building, presents the unique experience of a 1922 light keepers home on the shores of "Iceberg Alley".
2. Point Riche
The Headland of Point Riche is located on the Great Northern Peninsula of Newfoundland. The Point Riche Lighthouse is a "pepperpot" lighthouse that was built in 1892 and is still active today.
3. Cow Head
Cow Head Lighthouse is located in the hollow of promontory on Cow Head Summerside and was built in 1909. It is accessible by a scenic walking trail that offers stunning ocean views, however the lighthouse is no longer active.
4. Lobster Cove Head
Lobster Cove Head Lighthouse was built in 1897. It is the perfect place to watch beautiful sunsets or crashing waves during a storm. Discover the heritage of this place by visiting the many exhibits located inside.
5. Bay of Islands
The South Head Lighthouse was erected in 1925 at the southern entrance to the Bay of Islands. The original structure was demolished in 2010 and replaced by a cylindrical, red and white striped, fiberglass tower that supports a solar light.
6. Woody Point
Woody Point Lighthouse was built in 1919. The light operated on acetylene gas until 1923, when it was damaged by fire and replaced by a fixed red kerosene light.
7. Sandy Point
Built in the spring of 1883, Sandy Point Lighthouse served as the first on the west coast of Newfoundland. Originally lit by an argand lamp that burned inside a sixth-order lens to produce a fixed white light.
8. Cape Anguille
The original Cape Anguille lighthouse included a foghorn was completed in 1908. It is located on the most western point of Newfoundland. In 1960 a new lighthouse was established..
9. Cape Ray
In 1871 the first Cape Ray lighthouse was built only to be destroyed a few years later by a fire. A second lighthouse was built in 1885, only to meet the same unfortunate fate. The current Cape Ray Lighthouse that stands today was built in 1959 and is made of concrete.
10. Rose Blanche
Located in scenic Rose Blanche, this lighthouse was built in 1871 from a nearby granite quarry. D & T Stevenson, lighthouse engineers from Edinburgh, Scotland, designed the original apparatus.
Northwest Head is a lighthouse located in Ramea, accessible by a scenic walking trail. Built in 1902 to serve the local fishermen, it is a cylindrical iron tower painted spirally with red and white bands. The tower exhibited an occulting white light, with alternating 1 1/2 second periods of light and darkness.
12. Harbour Breton
Designed to serve the fishing trade on the south coast, Rocky Point Lighthouse was built in 1873 in Harbour Breton. Visit by taking a short leisurely stroll in the Coast of Bays, at the end you will find the perfect view of the Harbour Breton Bay fjords.
13. Grand Bank
Located on the east coast of Newfoundland, the Grand Bank Lighthouse has a property that dates back to the 1850s. The historic waterfront and lighthouse gives visitors a glimpse of Grand Bank both past and present.
14. Point Verde
Developed for navigation in Placentia Bay, the Point Verde Lighthouse was built in 1878. It consisted of a rectangular, two-story, flat-roofed dwelling set atop a cement foundation with a square tower rising above it's roof.
15. Cape Pine
Located on the southern most point on the Avalon Peninsula, Newfoundland, Cape Pine's Lighthouse was built in 1850 after numerous shipwrecks, attended with much loss of life. The tower was designed by Alexander Gordon, a British civil engineer. Initially the lighthouse was painted in broad red and white horizontal bands and equipped with a revolving lighting apparatus fitted with sixteen lamps and reflectors. Cape Pine Lighthouse was declared a National Historic Site in 1974 and a Recognized Federal Heritage Building in 1989.
16. Cape Race
Cape Race Lighthouse was built in 1852 on the southeast tip of Newfoundland and is most famous for it's role in the Titanic disaster. On April 14, 1912, just minutes before striking the fateful iceberg, the Titanic had been relaying passengers’ messages to Cape Race, but the nature of the wireless transmissions soon changed when the Titanic broadcast: “CQD CQD SOS Titanic Position 41.44 N 50.24 W. Require immediate assistance. Come at once. We struck an iceberg. Sinking.” Over the next several hours, Cape Race Marconi Station sent and received numerous messages as it helped coordinate the rescue operation and disseminated news of the tragedy. The original tower was painted in red and white vertical stripes, however today the tower is white. Cape Race Lighthouse was designated a national historic site in 1974 and a Recognized Federal Heritage Building in 1990. The Myrick Wireless Interpretive Centre, a replica of the original Cape Race Marconi Station, provides visitors a chance to learn about the multifaceted history of Cape Race.
Located roughly midway between Cape Spear and Cape Race, Ferryland Head was an ideal location for a lighthouse, being itself an obstacle for mariners. The Ferryland Head Lighthouse was erected in 1871 and was originally a round, cylindrical light tower built of stone and red brick with the original lantern room still being retained. Ferryland Head Lighthouse was declared a Recognized Federal Heritage Building in 1991, while the dwelling was made a Municipal Heritage Building in 2006. Today after enjoying a twenty-five minute stroll to the lighthouse, you can take advantage of the Lighthouse Picnics and enjoy the view (with a chance to see whales and icebergs!)
18. Cape Spear
Built in 1836, Cape Spear features Newfoundland’s oldest surviving lighthouse, which is based on a square two story building with the tower and light in the middle. The light and technology in the lighthouse changed over time until 1955 when a new concrete lighthouse became operational.In 1977, Parks Canada embarked on a five-year restoration of Cape Spear Lighthouse, which had been declared a National Historic Site in 1962. As it stands now the lighthouse has been restored to its 1839 appearance and is set up to show how a mid-nineteenth century lighthouse keeper and his family would have lived. Cape Spear’s location near the convoy routes of the Second World War made it a strategic point in the Battle of the Atlantic. To provide protection for convoys from German submarines a battery and garrison was stationed at Cape Spear featuring bunkers, underground passages, and two 10-inch guns. Today this outpost is no longer used by any military and the remains of the bunker stand as a reminder of the impact of the war. Along with its history Cape Spear is an excellent place to see seabirds, icebergs, ships, and whales in the spring and summer months. Along with its opportunities to see wildlife on the sea and land the East Coast Hiking Trail passes through Cape Spear, offering access to some of the island’s best hiking trails.
19. Fort Amherst
After his victory of the French in 1762, Lieutenant Colonel William Amherst realized stronger fortifications were needed to protect the St. John's harbour entrance, and he had Fort Amherst constructed on South Head in 1777. At the prompting of fishing and commercial interests, Newfoundland’s first lighthouse, a stone tower, was erected inside Fort Amherst in 1813. A small ceremony was held on August 20, 1970 to unveil a plaque at Fort Amherst, which had been designated a National Historic Site in 1951.
20. Bell Island
Bell Island, so named due to a bell-shaped rock just of the island’s northwestern tip, is located in Conception Bay and is reachable by a short ferry ride from Portugal Cove. In 1893 red hematite, a rich iron ore, was discovered on the island and led to a population boom due to the mining operations. Construction on a light tower, a fog alarm building, and a keepers’ duplex began in 1939 on the eastern tip of the island, and the station commenced operation in 1940. The lighthouse is still listed as a staffed station, but the keeper’s dwelling has been since boarded up and the keeper resides in his own home. Tourism Bell Island opened a visitor centre in the keeper’s dwelling in July 2014. Besides making a trip to the lighthouse, visitors can also experience the mining history of the island, as a museum, which offers visitors a walking tour of some underground mining shafts, opened in 2000.
21. Heart's Content
Heart’s Content is located on the eastern side of Trinity Bay, about halfway up the Bay de Verde Peninsula. The population of Heart’s Content doubled in the half century following the arrival of the telegraph cable, but today the population has fallen back to its 1860s level of roughly six hundred. Heart's Content Lighthouse was built in 1901 on Norther Point and was originally a circular, iron tower, painted in red and white spirals. The lighthouse was designated a Recognized Federal Heritage Building in 1990.
22. Baccalieu Island
Situated roughly two miles off the tip of the Bay de Verde Peninsula, Baccalieu Island is the largest protected seabird island in Newfoundland. The island is home to more types of breeding seabirds than any other seabird colony in the province. The need for a light on Baccalieu Island was noted by Newfoundland’s Commissioners of Lighthouses in 1840. As funds were limited and other lighthouse sites were deemed more important, an act that permitted a portion of the collected light dues to be used for the erection of a lighthouse on Baccalieu Island was not passed until 1857. Due to the change in contractors, work on the tower and dwelling did not start until the last week of July 1858 and was not officially placed in operation until December 20th, 1858. Today, a white flash every six seconds is shown from a square skeletal tower located near the original lighthouse. The southwest station was de-staffed in 2002, but it still displays a white flash every ten seconds and, when necessary, sounds a four-second blast each minute.
23. Random Island
Construction of Random Head Lighthouse begun in 1894 on the southern shore of Trinity Bay and was operational by 1895. The circular, iron tower originally stood 10.4 meters tall and was painted a unique red and white checkerboard pattern. The tower was classified a Recognized Federal Heritage Building in 1990.
24. King's Cove
In the early 1800s, a St. John’s merchant named James MacBraire established his major fishing premises at King’s Cove. At the time of the first official Newfoundland census in 1836, King’s Cove had a population of 413, which was significant as the total population of Bonavista Bay was only about 5,000. King’s Cove received a lighthouse in 1893, when a cast-iron tower was erected on Western Point. Designed and manufactured in the Chance Brothers factory in Birmingham, England, the separate sections for the tower were shipped to Newfoundland and assembled at King's Cove. The tower was originally painted red, and a wooden store, also painted red, stood 26.8 metres from the tower. The tower was classified a Recognized Federal Heritage Building in 1990.
25. Cape Bonavista
Upon sighting land after his 1497 transatlantic voyage aboard the Matthew, John Cabot, an Italian navigator and explorer, declared “O Buona Vista!”, and that is how North America was rediscovered and how Cape Bonavista received its name. First settled in the late sixteenth century, Bonavista, situated near the tip of the Bonavista Peninsula, was the most northern English settlement until the early eighteenth century and served as a centre for the northern fishery. By the 1840s, Bonavista had a population of 2,000, and the Commissioners of Lighthouses realized a lighthouse was needed near Cape Bonavista to guide vessels passing between Bonavista and Trinity Bays. John Saunders was awarded the contract for constructing the lighthouse, based on a design from Trinity House in England. Cape Bonavista Lighthouse resembles those built earlier at Cape Spear and Harbour Grace Island and was nearly completed by the end of 1841. A visit to Cape Bonavista Lighthouse is not to be missed. Guides in period costume lead visitors up the steps of the tower where they can witness a rare site: a working set of lamps and reflectors that is slowly revolved by a clockwork mechanism.
26. Cabot Islands
The name of the islands is after John Cabot, the Italian navigator and explorer, who discovered Newfoundland in 1497. In 1877 petitions were presented to the Newfoundland House of Assembly from J. T. Oakley and others of Greenspond and J. B. Blanford and others of Twillingate, calling for the erection of a lighthouse on the Cabot Islands. The plan for Cabot Islands Lighthouse called for a iron light tower surrounded by a two-storey, frame keepers’ dwelling. Lighthouse Inspector J. T. Nevill traveled to Britain to make arrangements for the tower. The materials were landed on Northwest Cabot Island during the 1879 season, and Austin Oke oversaw the erection of the tower and lantern room, and the installation of the lighting apparatus. Today the light on Cabot Islands gives a white flash every ten seconds, and the fog horn sounds a four-second blast each minute when needed.
27. Burnt Point
Burnt Point is located on the eastern side of the harbour at Seldom-Come-By on the southern shore of Fogo Island. In 1858, Robert Oke, Inspector of Lighthouses, requested that a light be built on Burnt Point. Seldom-Come-By received a lighthouse in 1905, where three flat-roofed structures, a fog alarm building, a keeper’s dwelling, and a store house, were constructed on Burnt Point. A fixed red lens lantern light was exhibited from the southern side of the fog alarm building, and the fog alarm sounded a five-second blast every 118 seconds as needed during the navigation season that ran from spring through December. All three structures were painted white with a single, horizontal black band around their middle.
The Town of Twillingate is situated around a harbour formed by North Twillingate Island and South Twillingate Island. In 1867, a Mr. Knight presented a petition from John W. Owen, and other residents of Twillingate, to the Newfoundland House of Assembly calling for the erection of a lighthouse on the northwest headland of North Twillingate Island, known now as Devil's Cove Head, to mark the entrance to the harbour. Designs and specifications for the lighthouse were prepared in 1874 and submitted to public tender, and a contract for its construction was subsequently awarded to Messrs. Colman and Kelly. The contractors made preparations during the winter of 1874-1875, so they could begin work as early as possible in 1875. The tower was originally painted red while the detached frame keepers’ dwelling, situated twenty-five feet from the tower and connected to it by a covered passageway, was painted white with a red roof. The circular lantern room, with its two rows of triangular glass panes, and the revolving lighting apparatus, made up of eight lamps and reflectors, were installed in 1876, and the light was first exhibited on September 1 of that year. Long Point Lighthouse is still staffed by a keeper, and a modern keeper’s dwelling at the station serves as a gift shop. The lighthouse and double dwelling were designated Recognized Federal Heritage Buildings in 1989. The current signature of the light is a white flash every five seconds, while the fog horn sounds a four-second blast each minute, when needed.